The Coalition for the Sahel

The Coalition

The Coalition for the Sahel was announced at the Pau Summit on 13 January 2020 by the Heads of State of France, Burkina Faso, Chad, Mali, Mauritania and Niger, in the presence of the United Nations Secretary-General, the President of the European Council, the European Union High Representative, the Chairperson of the African Union Commission and the Secretary General of La Francophonie.

Read the press conference and joint statement by heads of State.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Pau Summit ©HL.Hablin/AFP From left to right: Josep Borrell, High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, António Guterres, UN Secretary-General, Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, President of Mali, Louise Mushikiwabo, Secretary General of La Francophonie, Roch Kaboré, President of Burkina Faso, Emmanuel Macron, President of the French Republic, Mahamadou Issoufou, President of Niger, Mohamed Ould El-Ghazouani, President of Mauritania, Idriss Déby, President of Chad, Charles Michel, President of the European Council and Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission

Find out more about the G5 Sahel.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Providing a more collective and inclusive response to the Sahel crisis

The gravity of the crisis in the Sahel, the sense of urgency, and the importance of the needs require stronger, more inclusive action. This is the goal of the Coalition for the Sahel. The aim is to provide a more collective response to the challenges of the Sahel region by pooling the work undertaken by the G5 Sahel States and their international partners. Together they form a community of shared interests in accordance with the values and norms of the United Nations. It is not a substitute for existing decision-making processes.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

The Coalition for the Sahel aims to facilitate the coordination and interaction between the various dimensions of international action to support the G5 Sahel countries. The aim is to ensure coherent action at the regional level, encompassing all levers and actors involved in the Sahel, including on security, political and development issues.

Download the Coalition’s presentation in pdf format : available in English, French, German and Spanish.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What is the Coalition for the Sahel ?

The founding events

On 28 April 2020, the European Union and the G5 Sahel countries, with the support of the United Nations and the African Union, reaffirmed their joint commitment at the highest level for the security, stability and development of the Sahel. The President of the European Council and the G5 Sahel Heads of State launched the Coalition for the Sahel and called for the Coalition to be expanded to include other international partners. They underlined the importance of the measures envisaged in the four pillars of the Coalition and the need for a comprehensive and coordinated approach bringing together short and long term actions.

Read the Joint Statement of the European Council members with G5 Sahel Member States made following the videoconference of 28 April 2020.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Charles Michel, President of the European Council :

« Today we agreed to continue to work together with our #G5Sahel partners to fight terrorism for the security, stability and peace of the region. It’s important to convince other international partners to join the Coalition for Sahel announced during our meeting in Pau. »

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

The 4 pillars

A Coalition based on
4 complementary pillars

In the context of a challenging security and humanitarian situation, this initiative offers a new framework for international action in collaboration with the G5 Sahel and its Executive Secretariat, across four complementary pillars which each have different leads.

  • 1

    Fight against terrorism

    See more
  • 2

    Strengthening the capabilities of the G5 Sahel states’ armed forces

    See more
  • 3

    Support for the return of the State and administrations in the territory

    See more
  • 4

    Development assistance

    See more
  • 1
    1 Fight against terrorism

    The aim of this pillar is to fight against armed terrorist groups by coordinating all of the efforts led by the African armies and the G5 Sahel Joint Force with the partners – Barkhane, MINUSMA, Takuba Task Force – with priority given to the Three-Borders region (Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso).

    Faced with a challenging security situation and the possibility of the threat expanding beyond the borders of the G5 Sahel countries, the aim is to create the conditions required for stabilization and development work.

    Learn more about the work carried out by some actors to fight against terrorism in the Sahel:

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    Operation Barkhane on a joint operation – Fama © Etat-major des Armées français
  • 2
    2 Strengthening the capabilities of the G5 Sahel states’ armed forces

    The Partnership for Security and Stability in the Sahel (P3S), initiated by France and Germany during the G7 Summit in Biarritz in August 2019, aims to identify security needs and increase efforts in the fields of defence and internal security.

    Within the framework of the P3S, the Coalition’s second pillar aims to coordinate all the defence capacity building actions for G5 countries, and in particular all of the offers of training and equipment for national armed forces and the G5 Sahel Joint Force, including armed forces responsible for police missions.

    The European Union is supporting the G5 Sahel, particularly through the “African Peace Facility” and the EUTM Mali military training and strategic advice mission (the mandate of which has been renewed for four years beyond 18 May 2020). The strategic review of EUTM Mali helped strengthen the mission’s work in central Mali particularly by supporting trained troops on tactics and extending the geographic scope of the mission to the entirety of the G5 Sahel with particular emphasis on Burkina Faso and Niger.

    Find out more information about :

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    Handover of equipment to the G5 Sahel joint force by Expertise France on 31/03/2020 in Bamako, in the presence of EUTM Mali, financed by the European Union ©Expertise France
  • 3
    3 Support for the return of the State and administrations in the territory

    In the framework of the effort to identify the priority needs of the Partnership for Security and Stability in the Sahel (P3S), this pillar aims to coordinate all available training and equipment for national internal security forces (police, gendarmerie, national guard) and the G5 Sahel Joint Force’s provost marshals. The aim is to help bolster the sovereign function of the State. Enhancing the State’s presence also entails rebuilding the legal capacities and local administration of the G5 countries, with priority for the most fragile areas.

    The European Union is supporting Pillar 3 through the Emergency Trust Fund, the Instrument contributing to Stability and Peace (IcSP) and EU civilian missions (EUCAP Sahel Niger and Mali) and the MINUSMA through the police component.

    Find out more information about :

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    • Classroom in Gossi, Mali © French Crisis and Support Centre
  • 4
    4 Development assistance

    The fourth pillar aims to respond to challenges regarding employment, poverty, education, healthcare and infrastructure in Burkina Faso, Mali, Mauritania, Niger and Chad.

    Development assistance is currently coordinated through two main bodies: the G5 Sahel, a cooperation framework created in 2014, and the Sahel Alliance, launched on 13 July 2017 by France, Germany and the European Union aimed at coordinating the work of international donors.

    International contributions are mainly delivered by the Sahel Alliance (13 members, over 800 projects for €11.6 billion with a disbursement rate estimated at 29% in 2019), in connection with the G5 Sahel Executive Secretariat. The Executive Secretariat helps to identify activities, ensure good coordination between actions and distribute roles and/or geographical areas. It therefore guarantees the overall effectiveness of development work, in coherence with the political, security and military aspects.

    Find out more about the Sahel Alliance.

    Under a strategic partnership with the G5 Sahel, the members of the Sahel Alliance are implementing several Priority Investment Programmes (PIP), including an Emergency Development Programme in fragile cross-border areas. The members of the Sahel Alliance represented €1.8 billion, including €266 million to fund the Emergency Development Programme with a focus on three priority sectors: access to water, strengthening resilience and supporting social cohesion. These actions also contribute to the third pillar by supporting the return of government services and decentralization, so as to build confidence between public authorities and local people.

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

The Coalition's Secretariat

The Secretariat

The Secretariat’s mission is to run the coordination between the partners, provide coherence within and between each of the four pillars and to monitor the results.

France proposed supporting the momentum for increased coordination and mobilization of partners by running the Secretariat of the Coalition for the Sahel for six months from 1 February 2020.

It is composed of representatives of the Ministry for Europe and Foreign Affairs, the Ministry for the Armed Forces and the Agence Française de Développement and is placed under the authority of Frédéric Bontems, General Secretary. The body will take on a more international dimension in the future.

View the interview of the former special envoy of France for the Sahel on  TV5 Monde.

It is open to contribution from partners of the Sahel Coalition and the G5 Sahel who wish to support its work through seconded staff. Several countries from Europe and the G5 Sahel have shown that they are keen to play a part in this.

Operational contacts have been made by the Coalition Secretariat with the G5 Sahel Executive Secretariat, ECOWAS as well as the European Union and the G5 Sahel partner States with a view to enabling the Coalition to meet its goals.

The Member States of the G5 Sahel and the members of the European Council “called upon the other like-minded bilateral and international partners of the G5 Sahel countries to join the Coalition for the Sahel and contribute to the joint efforts under its respective pillars.”

 

Extract of the Joint statement of the European Council members with G5 Sahel Member States made following the videoconference of 28 April 2020.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

La coalition pour le Sahel

La coalition

La Coalition pour le Sahel a été annoncée lors du sommet de Pau le 13 janvier 2020, par les chefs d’Etats de la France, du Burkina Faso, du Mali, de la Mauritanie, du Niger et du Tchad, en présence du Secrétaire général des Nations Unies, du président du Conseil européen et du Haut représentant de l’Union européenne, du président de la Commission de l’Union africaine et de la Secrétaire générale de la Francophonie.

Retrouvez la conférence de presse et la déclaration conjointe des Chefs d’Etat.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Le sommet de Pau ©HL.Hablin/AFP De gauche à droite : Josep Borrell, Haut représentant pour la politique étrangère et de sécurité de l’UE, Antonio Guterres Secrétaire général de l’ONU, Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, Président de la République du Mali, Louise Mushikiwabo Secrétaire générale de l’OIF, Roch Kaboré, Président de la République du Burkina Faso, Emmanuel Macron, Président de la République française, Mahamadou Issoufou, Président de la République du Niger, Mohamed Ould Cheikh El Ghazouani , Président de la République islamique de Mauritanie, Idriss Deby, président de la République du Tchad, Charles Michel, Président du Conseil européen et Moussa Faki Mahamat, Président de la Commission de l’Union africaine

Retrouvez plus d’informations sur le G5-Sahel.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Une coalition pour apporter une réponse collective et solidaire à la crise au Sahel

La gravité de la crise que connait le Sahel, le sentiment d’urgence, l’importance des besoins nécessitaient une action plus forte, plus solidaire. C’est l’objet de la Coalition pour le Sahel. Donner une réponse plus collective aux défis de la région sahélienne, en rassemblant les actions conduites par les Etats du G5 Sahel et leurs partenaires internationaux. Ils forment ensemble une communauté d’intérêts mutuels, respectant les normes et valeurs des Nations unies. La Coalition ne se substitue pas aux processus décisionnels existants.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

La Coalition pour le Sahel vise à faciliter la synchronisation, la coordination et les interactions entre les différents volets de l’action internationale venant en appui des pays du G5. L’objectif est d’en faire à l’échelle régionale, une action cohérente, qui englobe l’ensemble des leviers et des acteurs impliqués au Sahel, qu’ils portent sur les questions  sécuritaires, politiques ou de développement.

Télécharger la présentation de la Coalition au format pdf : disponible en français, anglais, espagnol et allemand.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Qu'est-ce que la Coalition pour le Sahel ?

Les évènements fondateurs

Le 28 avril 2020, l’Union européenne et les pays du G5 Sahel, avec l’appui des Nations unies et de l’Union africaine, ont réaffirmé au plus haut niveau leur engagement conjoint pour la sécurité, la stabilité et le développement du Sahel. Le président du Conseil européen et les chefs d’État du G5 Sahel ont lancé la Coalition pour le Sahel et ont appelé à un élargissement de la Coalition à d’autres partenaires internationaux. Ils ont souligné l’importance des mesures envisagées dans les quatre piliers de la Coalition et le besoin d‘une approche intégrée et coordonnée qui allie des actions de court et de long terme.

Retrouvez la Déclaration conjointe des membres du Conseil européen avec les États membres du G5 Sahel à l’issue de la visioconférence du 28 avril 2020.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Charles Michel, président du Conseil européen : 

« Today we agreed to continue to work together with our #G5Sahel partners to fight terrorism for the security, stability and peace of the region. It’s important to convince other international partners to join the Coalition for Sahel announced during our meeting in Pau. »

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail

Les 4 piliers

Une coalition fondée sur
4 piliers complémentaires

Dans un contexte sécuritaire et humanitaire dégradé, cette initiative propose un nouveau cadre à l’action internationale en coordination avec le G5 Sahel et son Secrétariat exécutif, à travers quatre piliers complémentaires, qui disposent chacun de leur propre pilotage :

  • 1

    Lutter contre les groupes armés terroristes

    Voir plus
  • 2

    Renforcer les capacités des forces armées des Etats de la région

    Voir plus
  • 3

    Soutenir le retour de l’Etat et des administrations sur le territoire

    Voir plus
  • 4

    Aider au développement

    Voir plus
  • 1
    1 Lutter contre les groupes armés terroristes

    L’objectif de ce pilier est de lutter contre les groupes armés terroristes en coordonnant l’ensemble des efforts menés par  les armées africaines et la force conjointe du G5 Sahel (FC-G5S) avec leurs partenaires – Barkhane, MINUSMA, Task Force Takuba – prioritairement dans la zone des Trois frontières (Mali, Niger, Burkina Faso).

    Face à une situation sécuritaire dégradée et à une possible extension de la menace au-delà des pays du G5 Sahel, il s’agit de créer les conditions nécessaires aux actions de stabilisation et de développement.

    Retrouvez l’action de certains des acteurs de la lutte contre le terrorisme au Sahel :

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    Opération conjointe Barkhane – Forces armées maliennes © Etat-major des armées françaises
  • 2
    2 Renforcer les capacités des forces armées des Etats de la région

    Le Partenariat pour la sécurité et la stabilité au Sahel (P3S), initié par la France et l’Allemagne lors du sommet du G7 à Biarritz en août 2019, a pour objectif d’identifier les besoins en matière de sécurité et d’accroître les efforts en matière de défense et de sécurité intérieure.

    Dans le cadre du P3S, le deuxième pilier de la Coalition vise à coordonner toutes les actions de renforcement des capacités de défense des pays du G5, notamment l’ensemble des offres de formation et d’équipements au profit des forces armées nationales et de la force conjointe du G5 Sahel (FCG5S), y compris les forces armées en charge de missions de police.

    L’Union européenne apporte son soutien au G5 Sahel, notamment via la « Facilité africaine de paix » et la mission militaire de formation et de conseil stratégique EUTM Mali (dont le mandat a été renouvelé pour quatre ans au-delà du 18 mai 2020). La revue stratégique d’EUTM Mali a permis le renforcement de l’action de la mission au centre Mali notamment un accompagnement des troupes formées jusqu’au niveau tactique et l’extension du périmètre géographique de la mission à l’ensemble du G5 Sahel, avec un accent particulier sur le Burkina Faso et le Niger.

    Retrouvez plus d’informations sur :

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    Force conjointe du G5-Sahel © G5-Sahel
  • 3
    3 Soutenir le retour de l’Etat et des administrations sur le territoire

    Dans le cadre de la dynamique de recensement des besoins prioritaires du Partenariat pour la Sécurité et la Stabilité au Sahel (P3S), ce pilier vise à coordonner l’ensemble des offres de formation et d’équipement au profit des forces de sécurité intérieure nationales (police, gendarmerie, garde nationale) et des prévôts de la force conjointe du G5 Sahel. Le but est d’appuyer le renforcement de l’Etat dans sa dimension régalienne. Le renforcement de la présence de l’Etat  nécessite également de reconstruire des capacités judiciaires et une administration territoriale des pays du G5 Sahel, en agissant prioritairement dans les zones les plus fragilisées.

    L’Union européenne apporte son soutien dans le cadre du Pilier 3, via le Fonds fiduciaire d’urgence (FFU), l’Instrument contribuant à la stabilité et à la paix (IcSP) et les missions civiles de l’Union européenne (EUCAP Sahel Niger et Mali) ; la MINUSMA via sa composante police.

    Retrouvez plus d’informations sur :

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    • Salle de classe à Gossi, Mali © Centre de crise et de soutien français
  • 4
    4 Aider au développement

    Le quatrième pilier a pour objectif de répondre aux défis en termes d’emploi, de pauvreté, d’éducation, de santé, d’infrastructures du Burkina Faso, du Mali, de la Mauritanie, du Niger et du Tchad.

    L’aide au développement est actuellement coordonnée par deux dispositifs principaux : le G5 Sahel, cadre de coopération créé en 2014, et l’Alliance Sahel, lancée le 13 juillet  2017 par la France, l’Allemagne et l’Union européenne visant à coordonner les actions des bailleurs internationaux.

    Les contributions internationales sont ainsi portées majoritairement par l’Alliance Sahel (13 membres ; plus de 800 projets pour 11,6 milliards d’euros dont un taux de décaissement qui est estimé à 29% en 2019), en lien avec le secrétariat exécutif du G5 Sahel. Ce dernier facilite le recensement des activités, s’assure de la bonne coordination des actions, de la répartition des rôles et/ou des territoires. Ainsi il garantit l’efficience globale des actions de développement, en cohérence avec les volets politique, sécuritaire et militaire.

    Retrouvez plus d’informations sur l’Alliance Sahel.

    Dans le cadre d’un partenariat stratégique avec le G5 Sahel, les membres de l’Alliance Sahel financent plusieurs projets du Programme d’investissements prioritaires (PIP) dont le financement a fait l’objet d’une Conférence des partenaires et bailleurs de fonds du G5 Sahel à Nouakchott le 6 décembre 2018 et qui comprend le Programme de développement d’urgence (PDU) dans les zones fragiles transfrontalières. La part des membres de l’Alliance Sahel se chiffre globalement à 1,8 milliard d’euros dont 266 millions d’euros sont destinés au financement du PDU, axé sur trois secteurs prioritaires : l’accès à l’eau, le renforcement de la résilience et l’appui à la cohésion sociale. Ces actions contribuent aussi au troisième pilier en appuyant le retour des services de l’Etat et la décentralisation par le renforcement des liens de confiance entre les autorités publiques et les populations.

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    What do you want to do ?

    New mail

    • Lancement du Projet de Développement d'urgence au Niger
    • What do you want to do ?

      New mail

      What do you want to do ?

      New mail

      Lancement du Projet de Développement d'urgence au Niger
Le secrétariat de la coalition

Le secrétariat

Le Secrétariat de la Coalition pour le Sahel a pour mission d’animer la coordination entre les partenaires, d’apporter de la cohérence dans chacun des 4 piliers et entre ces piliers, d’en suivre les résultats.

La France a proposé d’appuyer cette dynamique de coordination et de mobilisation accrue des partenaires en assurant le secrétariat, pour une durée de six mois, à compter du 1er février 2020.

Composé de représentants du ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires étrangères, du ministère des Armées, du ministère de l’Intérieur et de l’Agence française de Développement et placé sous l’autorité du Secrétaire général de la Coalition, l’Envoyé spécial de la France pour le Sahel, Frédéric Bontems, le secrétariat à vocation à s’internationaliser.

Retrouvez l’interview de l’ex-Envoyé spécial de la France pour le Sahel sur TV5 Monde.

Il est ouvert à la contribution des partenaires de la Coalition pour le Sahel et du G5 Sahel qui souhaiteraient apporter leur appui au travail de la Coalition, en y détachant des personnels. Plusieurs pays européens et du G5 Sahel ont montré leur volonté de s’y engager.

Des contacts opérationnels ont été bâtis par le Secrétariat de la Coalition avec le Secrétariat exécutif du G5 Sahel, la CEDEAO ainsi que l’Union européenne et les Etats partenaires du G5 Sahel en vue de permettre à la Coalition de tenir ses ambitions.

Les pays du G5 Sahel et l’Union européenne « appellent les autres partenaires bilatéraux et internationaux des pays du G5 Sahel partageant les mêmes idéaux à rejoindre la Coalition pour le Sahel et à contribuer aux efforts conjoints dans le cadre des différents piliers.»

 

Extrait de la Déclaration conjointe des membres du Conseil européen avec les États membres du G5 Sahel à l’issue de la visioconférence du 28 avril 2020.

What do you want to do ?

New mail

What do you want to do ?

New mail